Pumpkin Spice Pancakes – Paleo Style

Free at last! In honor of this fabulous day I’d like to share another recipe that I found from the same blog I cited yesterday.

Pumpkin Spice Pancakes – Paleo Style

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tbsp coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • Earth Balance
Process:

  1. In a medium sized mixing bowl, blend all ingredients with a hand mixer.
  2. Heat 1 tsp of coconut oil in a non-stick frying pan on medium heat.
  3. Add 1/8-1/4 cup of batter to the frying pan.
  4. Cook pancakes for about 2 minutes, or until batter releases easily from the frying pan, flip, and cook for a remaining minute or two.
  5. Top with apple butter, or your personal favorite pancake topping, and enjoy.
Ready for work:
Nutrition Facts: (Makes 4 pancakes)
Calories: 403
Fat: 21.3
Protein: 28
Carbs: 24
Fiber: 12
Sugar: 0

I was intrigued by this recipe because I have never used coconut flour before, so I decided to do some research and found that it’s a great low-carb, gluten-free, and high fiber alternative to other flours. As you can see in the nutrition facts, half of the carbs come from fiber and there is absolutely no sugar – unless you add maple syrup or apple butter etc.

Summary: I’m all about trying new things. The key to this recipe is to be open minded. You can’t go into this expecting it to taste like your standard buttermilk pancakes because you will be greatly disappointed – I assure you. I topped mine with some earth balance as I am on a sugar detox and can’t use maple syrup or apple butter. It’s super easy to make and it smells amazing! In terms of taste and texture, I’ll have to say it’s more like a bread than like a pancake because it’s a little thicker and grainier and less fluffy or airy. I bet with some maple syrup in the batter or even topped with apple butter it would taste magnificent.

Some ideas to modify this recipe would be to add some raisins/craisins to the mix, top it with a nut-butter, and add some vanilla extract or more milk (dairy or non-dairy) to make it fluffier. Overall, it’s a great recipe to play with and especially great during sugar detox, low-carb or gluten-free diets! Don’t be afraid to try new things – look up some recipes that call for coconut flour and have fun!

*3 out of 3 so far on my sticker calendar! Tomorrow is my first 5k race day – wish me luck! Happy Friday 🙂